Group of Molecular Biophysics “Sérgio Mascarenhas”

Coordinator: Prof. Dr. Richard Charles Garratt

Secretariat office :
Lhaís Visentin –
Phone: +55 16 3373-9874 or 3373-9875

The Group of Molecular Biophysics “Sérgio Mascarenhas” develops projects in the field of biophysics focused on the structural biology of proteins, the study of protein-protein and protein-lipid interactions, as well as complementary functional and characterization studies.

As an example of work in progress in the Group, we can mention the studies of molecular mechanisms involved in the parasite-host interaction, especially for the human parasite Schistosoma mansoni infection model, in order to identify / validate potential therapeutic targets.

Another of our research lines is focused on the study of cytoskeletal proteins of the family of GTPases, known as septins, which have the characteristic of polymerizing to form highly organized complexes.

In the area of ​​Microbiology, the Group has been active in the sub-area Microbiology of petroleum, performing the bacterial characterization of reservoirs environment and in the production of biosurfactants by bacterial strains isolated from this environment, in addition to the characterization of thermophilic enzymes related to surfactant activity.

Still, using bioinformatic tools, we have carried out studies of the evolution of the genomes of eukaryotic organisms, trying to understand molecular factors that influence the adaptability of organisms from different branches of evolution.

The techniques used and available in the Group of Molecular Biophysics are: Circular Dichroism Spectroscopy, Fluorescence and Electronic Paramagnetic Resonance; Microcalorimetry (ITC and DSC); Dynamic Light Scattering (DLS); Thermoforming; SEC-MALS; Cloning and heterologous expression; DNA sequencing; Protein Purification; Bioinformatics; Microbiology.

IFSC Building CFBio Area 2
  Faculty Staff   Phone
Ana Paula Ulian de Araújo+55 16 33739834
João Renato Carvalho Muniz+55 16 33736668
Leila Maria Beltramini+55 16 33739837
Marcos Vicente de Albuquerque Salles Navarro+55 16 33738662
Nelma Regina Segnini Bossolan+55 16 33738100
Otaciro Rangel Nascimento+55 16 33739838
Otavio Henrique Thiemann+55 16 33738089
Richard Charles Garratt+55 16 33739846
  Research and Administrative Staff   Phone
Andressa Patricia Alves Pinto+55 16 33738094
Derminda Isabel de Moraes+55 16 33738094
Gislaine Costa dos Santos+55 16 33739159
Humberto D'Muniz Pereira+55 16 33736753
José Fernando de Lima+55 16 33736754
Rafael Spadaccia Panhota+55 16 33738094
Susana Andrea Sculaccio Beozzo+55 16 33736775
Contact us
São Carlos Institute of Physics - IFSC
Thank you for the message! We´ll be in touch as soon as possible..